Thanking God

I’ve heard it preached many times that we need to be thankful and praiseworthy to God throughout the stormy seasons of our lives. It is usually elaborated further that, while it is easy to be thankful during the good times–we need to be grateful to God during the hard times as well. I do support this stance, however today I was pondering if I have been openly thankful to God during the good times, let alone the bad.

For me, I have my “good seasons” and my “bad seasons”, if you will. Last year, although I enjoyed the first year of my daughter’s life, was a “bad season”. Heck, call it a bad year. (And that’s another story for another day.) I must admit I doubt that I praised Him during those difficult times. Contrastively, this year I would say is a pretty good year. Likewise, I don’t think I have been very praiseworthy. (Yikes, right?)

Sure, when I pray to God I thank Him for my family and his protection. When I say grace with my children we thank him for our food. However, I haven’t truly had ongoing conversations with Him praising and thanking Him for all he has done in my life, for my life, and for what he promises me in the future. Mainly I am just asking for things like strength and patience. I give him five minutes here and there when it is convenient. Things are great now, but will it take a bad season to talk to him longer than I do now? And if I go into another bad season, will I be able to praise him in the way he deserves?

Of course these questions are rhetorical and I know what I need to do. Today this blog is more of a confession, and I confess I have been ungrateful to God despite my better-than-average circumstances. I feel that we all should give Him more of our time, love, and appreciation. If he is our Creator, our Savior, our First Love, and our sole purpose for living…why are we busying ourselves to the point that we only have a few minutes to spare for God? Why are we scheduling appointments that interfere with our Bible study or church time? I found a verse in Romans today that really drives this point home for me:

For ever since the world was created, people have seen the earth and sky. Through everything God made, they can clearly see his invisible qualities–his eternal power and divine nature. So they have no excuse for not knowing God. Yes, they knew God, but they wouldn’t worship him as God or even give him thanks. And they began to think up foolish ideas of what God was like. As a result, their minds became dark and confused. Romans 1:20-21 NLT (via biblehub.com.)

When I think of a thankful child of God, my mind goes straight to King David. (And Job, too!) The Psalms David wrote to God adequately encompass His adoration and loyalty for God despite his circumstances. David had his good and bad seasons, too. Unlike me, however, David found time to create beautiful poetry and songs for his Master. This week David will be my inspiration and I hope you all get a chance this week to read some of his writing. God Bless!

2 thoughts on “Thanking God

  1. Michele Edgel says:

    Another great insight. I confess that even with my recent trails I am not always thanking God for all he is doing for me. Crazy right? I feel that if we pray enough, talking to God like he is sitting there we will eventually come to be able to talk to him all the time without having to “put it in our schedule” This is something I struggle with daily so we can pray together to be better at it.
    As Always
    God Loves You And So Do I
    Your Sister is Christ Forever and Always
    Michele

    Like

Leave a Reply

