Unplug and Refocus

Is life getting you down these days? It sure is laying into me pretty hard lately!

I recently moved to a new state (last week), with two children and a whole life to sort out. I’m struggling with lack of funds and time to complete college projects that are due, pay bills, and stay afloat. I’ve been the victim of racism and hatred by strangers in my neighborhood already. I am a Caucasian individual. (And spare me the political rhetoric, racism goes both ways).

I’m feeling lonely, stressed, and out of resources. My family has been advising me during this time of need (thanks Mom!) to pray, focus on God, read the Bible. Yet, I roll my eyes and shrug off their advice. Why don’t I want to hear or take their advice? Honestly, it’s because doing these spiritual things won’t immediately fix my worldly problems (money, time, racism).

After some reflection time this morning, it is clear to me I need to unplug and refocus. Today I will take a long break from anything with a screen. I will read the Bible, spend some time in prayer and with God, and deep down,I know this will make me feel a whole lot better.

No, it won’t add money to my bank account, nor will it make people be nice to me. But, it will reassure my fears and affirm my future in the Lord. At the end of the day, isn’t that all that truly matters? How petty I must seem this week to God. Ah well, it happens to the best of us, right?

This week I learned to refocus on my spirituality > the world.
(Sadly, this is a lesson I need to be reminded of every week. Maybe one day it will stick.)

1 John 2:15 Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions—is not from the Father but is from the world. And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever.

Leave a Reply

